CentOS 6.4: NSS, MD5 Certificates, and Authentication Problems

CentOS just released 6.4, so I decided to update the office server and as it was the end of the day, left it at that. Bad form on my end as I come in the next day to find I’m unable to connect to the samba server. Checking the logs I see samba is unable to connect to LDAP via TLS. I also quickly discover that the server itself is unable to get user information. First guess was to check the ldap server, but its running fine.

Second guess is to try ldapsearch from the office server and I get my first hint. Ldapsearch was not accepting my Certificate Authority and was giving a bad signature algorithm error. Researching that lead me to the following bug report: Unable to authenticate to legacy LDAP server due to “not secure” certificate signature.

It becomes clear that due to the decision at Mozilla, who develop the NSS(Network Security Services) library to stop accepting MD5 hashes is the root issue. I then set out to downgrade NSS to pre 6.4 release. The following packages were the ones I downgraded to get my system working again: nss nss-sysinit nss-tools nss-util nss-pam-ldapd mod_nss.

Now some may ask why not just upgrade your certificates to a newer and thus more secure signing algorithm? Well to anyone who has ever worked with OpenSSL and creating certs for a multitude of servers, its not a trivial task. I’ll put it on my todo list, but for now its at the bottom.

Thanks to following blog post by Matt Micene that was the break in this case.

Leave a Reply

