Weird smpatch Security Error(Solved)

So today I did my first live upgrade of a solaris system. Takes a while but is rather easy with ZFS as the root file system. Anyways, now that I’m running the latest release of Solaris 10(8/11), I want to then make sure all the patches are then installed. Run smpatch analyze and I get the following(taken from /var/adm/messages):

Oct 24 16:51:41 ****** root: [ID 702911 user.error]  => com.sun.patchpro.util.Ca
chingDownloader@1e12f6d <=Downloader.getResponseCode() : IOExceptionsun.security
.validator.ValidatorException: PKIX path building failed: sun.security.provider.
certpath.SunCertPathBuilderException: unable to find valid certification path to
requested target

Looks scary but it lists all the new patches needed. I then try smpatch download only to get the same error followed by it saying the patch was unavailable for every single one. Not good. Looking around and from what I can read into this error, I think its has to do with the certificates used to connect to the Oracle update servers. I look through the patch list and find Update Connection System Client listed. I manually download that patch(121118-20) and install.

Ta Da! Fixed and smpatch is now happily downloading the latest patches. Now back to work.

Leave a Reply

